Meet the hardest rockin’ jazzed-up FUNK group in the Netherlands

The Funkstamatics (previously: Euro Cinema) are Tim den Heijer (guitar funkadelica), Niels “Dr. Fill” Piay (James Brown style breaks & grooves), Dennis Orsel (space – & deep funk bass) and “The Reverend” Rob Schepens (roaring Hammond & dirty vintage keys). You’ll often find them  accompanied by tenor sax beast Efraïm Trujillo (Amsterdam Funk Orchestra, Preachermen), both live and in the studio. The Funkstamatics love to play live and they’ll never let you forget it.

nielsframe     timframe    dennisframe    robframe

The band members bonded over a shared love of classic James Brown, Jimmy Smith, Parliament-Funkadelic, Grant Green and Meters vinyl. Their first demo under the name Euro Cinema was instantly picked up online by trendsetting funk DJ’s including Maestro. The group soon started to build a solid live reputation with shows ‘dripping with excitement and fun’. In 2010 the group opened the Saint Paul Soul Jazz Festival in France, the world’s most important festival for raw funk. In 2010 the vinyl single Brooklyn Groove was released by the American cult label Hammondbeat Records. Early 2011 the band presented their debut album “Ten-4” at the world famous Paradiso. Reviews were very positive and the album received a lot of airplay, both nationally and internationally.

Next Euro Cinema released various singles. Der Alte featuring sax player Susanne Alt was a cover of the classic German TV tune, carrying the seal of approval of legendary composer Peter Thomas. Craig Charles, deep funk fanatic and BBC DJ, handpicked the single Koekwaus for one of his legendary compilation albums. 2014 saw the release of a new album: Funkstamatic. It includes the aforementioned singles plus many new tracks. The album was supported by an energetic series of gigs that saw the band playing an aftershow for Kool & The Gang and jamming with members of Bootsy’s Rubber Band. In may 2015 the band changed its name (for reasons both legal and funky) to The Funkstamatics.

The new name was taken from the title of their second album, Funkstamatic. As the Funkstamatics, they released the album Lift Off, compilation ‘Koekwaus The Best Of The Euro Cinema Years’ and a series of singles including Happy Acorn, The Reverend, Humpty Dumpty and The F-Word. More tracks and gigs are coming soon!